Merge Prospects

In your Outplay account, you can merge two prospects into one record. Before you merge your prospects, understand what happens to the data on the prospect records.

  1. In your Outplay account, navigate to Prospects.

  2. Select the prospects which you want to merge.

  3. Click on … and select Merge Prospects.

  4. In the dialog box, select the prospect which you want to keep as the primary prospect. Refer to the below screen for more details.

    NOTE: Clicking on the prospect details will open the prospect info section to view more details

  5. Click on the prospect to see more details.

  6. Click on Next to proceed to the next step.

  7. In the next pop-up, please select the fields which you want to keep for the primary prospect. Please note, by default system will select the data set of the primary prospect selected. You can overwrite the same by selecting a different value.

    Please note, every field will show the unique data from the selected prospects which you want to merge e.g. if you select 4 prospects to merge then in the LinkedIn field, all the unique LinkedIn URLs of the selected 4 prospects will appear.

  8. Click Next to proceed with the merge. Refer to the below screenshot for your reference.

What happens when I merge two prospects?

  • The secondary prospect will merge into the primary prospect.

  • Email addresses and phone numbers of secondary prospects will be added as alternatives in the primary prospect.

  • Tasks of secondary prospects will be mapped under the primary prospect

  • Since each Outplay prospect can only link to one CRM record, following the merge in Outplay, only the primary prospect will continue to sync to the CRM record.

  • If the secondary prospect that was merged into the primary prospect was syncing to CRM, that record in CRM will no longer sync to Outplay because the record no longer exists. However, if the secondary prospect still exists in CRM then it will again create the same prospect in Outplay.

  • Please note: If both of the records you merged in Outplay were syncing with CRM, it’s recommended to merge the records in CRM. You will want to keep the CRM record that’s syncing with the primary prospect record in Outplay.

  • Activity tab of the primary prospect will also show the notification of the merging.

Refer below for more cases.

Case 1:

Prospect A is in Sequence A with some tasks

Prospect B is in Sequence B with some tasks

On merging,

Prospect B is selected as a primary prospect

Result: Prospect B will be added in Sequence A and all the tasks will be assigned to Prospect B.

Case 2:

Prospect A is in Sequence A with some tasks

Prospect B is in Sequence A with some tasks

Prospect C is not in any Sequence

On merging,

Prospect C is selected as a primary prospect

Result: Prospect C will be mapped in Sequence A with the latest step of prospect A or B.

Case 3:

Prospect A in Sequence A with tasks

Prospect B in Sequence A with tasks

On merging,

Prospect B is selected as a primary prospect

Result: System will check which task is the latest one and assign it to prospect B.

Case 4:

Prospect A in Sequence A with tasks

Prospect B in No Sequence

On merging,

Prospect B is selected as a primary prospect

Result: Prospect B is added in Sequence A and all tasks will be assigned to Prospect B.

Case 5:

Prospect A in No Sequence

Prospect B in Sequence A with tasks

On merging,

Prospect B is selected as a primary prospect

Result: Prospect B will be there and prospect A will be removed

Can I unmerge contacts?

It is not possible to unmerge contacts. You can delete the second email address in your merged contact and create a new contact with that second email address.

Did this answer your question?